Media Notes

Media Notes


KETC (Channel 9)

The station received six Emmy Award nominations from the Mid-America chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) for programs of community engagement. Staff members who received nominations include Jim Kirchherr, Ruth Ezell, Tino Wallenda, Anne-Marie Berger and Brian Holder. Martin Duggan was inducted into the NATAS Mid-America Silver Circle at the Emmy Awards ceremony on Oct. 9 for serving as host of the Donnybrook program for 23 years.

Missouri Press Association

The Association will induct five people into its Newspaper Hall of Fame in the literacy category. They are the late R.L. “Si” Colborn, Harold Ellinghouse, Jo Hoffman,  the late Donald W. Reynolds  and Robert M. Wilson.

St. Louis American

The National Newspaper Association named the St. Louis American the “First African-American Newspaper in the Nation”.  In addition, The Suburban Newspapers of America named the paper the “First Weekly Newspaper” in North America. Journalism department faculty of Loyola University-Chicago School of Communications judged the competition. The American was the only independently owned paper to receive an award.

Weidenbaum Center

Catherine Rampel, economics editor at and editor of the Times’ Economix blog, received the first annual Weidenbaum Center Award for Evidence-Based Journalism.

St. Louis Bar Foundation

Edward Roth, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Mary Leonard, St. Louis Beacon;  and Donald Suggs, St. Louis American

Press Club at Metropolitan St. Louis

Media person of the year: Mike Shannon, Cardinals broadcaster

Meritorious Service: Jeremy Kohler, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Lifetime Achievement: Margaret Wolf Freivogel, St. Louis Beacon

Missouri Bar

Edward Roth, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

William Freivogel, St. Louis Beacon

Maria Altman, St. Louis Public Radio


Common Ground Public Relationsgeneric flagyl


The agency received two annual Bronze Quill awards from the International Association of Business Communicators.

Dillards Inc.

Jerry Talamantes, director of special events and public relations, received the 2010 Plaza Frontenac Fashion Achievement Awards.

The Vandiver Group, Inc.

The agency was named Best Public Relations Firm in St. Louis by St. Louis Small Business Monthly readers in the publication’s annual Best In Business 2010 issue.

Labor Tribune

The St. Louis/Southern Illinois Labor Tribune recently won awards in the annual contest of labor journalism held by the International Labor Communications Association. A first place award cited Kevin Madden for a series of articles on the toxic mobile homes that were showing up in Jefferson County after the Katrina disaster in New Orleans. The Labor Tribune also won a third place award in the category of General Excellence for state publications.


Tim Hogan, 76, died July 11 in Hemet, Ca. He was a former reporter for the Globe-Democrat and then public relations director for the Missouri Pacific and Union Pacific railroads. He was a former president of the St. Louis Press Club.

Taffy Wilber, 85, died Aug. 2 in Sarasota, Fla. She was the wife of the late Del Wilber, who was a catcher for the St. Louis Cardinals. She had a career in radio, public relations and community service.

Larry Fiquette, 84, died Sept. 4. He was a longtime editor at the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, handling the Sunday Pictures magazine and then the Dollar/Sense consumer section. From 1990 until his retirement in 1995, he was the paper’s Readers Advocate.

Patricia Sue Watkins, died Sept. 5. She was a graphic designer for KMOV-TV for more than 27 years.

Edward Schaefer, 71, died Sept. 14. He was a longtime Associated Press staffer in St. Louis who retired in 1999.

George Stroud, 81, died Oct. 3. He was a longtime editor at the Post-Dispatch for copy, wire news, and makeup.


Share our journalism